Nail Varnish Comparison – OPI My Dogsled Is A Hybrid & OPI Mermaid’s Tears

Nail Varnish Comparison

OPI My Dogsled Is A Hybrid & OPI Mermaid’s Tears

So, a different kind of post for my blog today. Welcome to my first ever nail varnish comparison post. I recently cave in and bought some new OPI nail varnishes and one of those was My Dogsled Is A Hybrid. I’ve read and heard loads about it on the internet and finally caved in and decided that I had to have it. I’d also heard a lot of people say how they thought it was similar to Mermaid’s Tears and I decided to dig out my bottle to compare the two.

My Dogsled Is A Hybrid and Mermaid's Tears

In the photo of the bottles My Dogsled Is A Hybrid is on the left and Mermaid’s Tears is on the right. Now they are very close colour wise, but I wouldn’t say that they are dead on dupes. My Dogsled Is A Hybrid is slightly darker and brighter than Mermaid’s Tears, which has a slight dusty quality to it.

But I did decide to swatch them side by side and in the photos you can just about see the difference. I have My Dogsled Is A Hybrid on my index and ring finger and Mermaid’s Tears on my middle and little finger. Some of the photos look slightly blurred because I had to take them without the flash to get the difference in the colours to show more accurately. I used two coats of each varnish and I have topcoat on.

My Dogsled Is A Hybrid and Mermaid's Tears (1)

The formulas of these nail varnishes were very different. My Dogsled Is A Hybrid is on the thick side, whereas Mermaid’s Tears is much thinner and could possibly have done with a third coat to even out a couple of uneven patches.

My Dogsled Is A Hybrid and Mermaid's Tears (3)

Both these colours are beautiful and while there are subtle differences you probably don’t need both. And since Mermaid’s Tears was limited edition a good couple of years ago My Dogsled Is A Hybrid is a good option if you missed out. But these are different enough for me to justify having both of them.

My Dogsled Is A Hybrid and Mermaid's Tears (2)

Leave a Reply

