Nail Varnish Picks – Winter 2014

Nail Varnish Picks

Winter 2014

The weather and the season really can influence which nail varnishes I grab for when I’m painting my nails, often times without me even realising it. So I thought I’d share some of my favourite nail varnishes for the winter months. When the weather does turn cold, I find myself reaching for lighter cool toned colours, many of which remind me of frost. As much as I do find myself influenced by the season when choosing my nail varnish, you can of course wear whatever colour you want when you want to. But these are some of my favourite nail varnishes for winter.

First up is Barry M’s Lady, which is a white and silver textured nail varnish. I always wear this with topcoat as I don’t like the textured finish, but this one really does remind me of frost and ice. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here. And in the photo it is shown with topcoat.

Barry M Lady (with topcoat)

Next is Alanna Renee’s Hedwig, another one which reminds me of frost. This is a white based nail varnish, with black, gold and white glitter. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

Alanna Renee Hedwig

And another white based nail varnish with glitter which I love for winter is Lac Attack’s Beauxbaton’s Academy. This is one of my favourite nail varnishes of all time and you can read my review on it here.

Lac Attack Beauxbatons Academy

Next is H&M’s On Ice, which is a grey toned light blue which just reminds me of cold winter mornings and the sky when it’s not quite light. You can read my review on this nail varnish by clicking here.

H&M On Ice

Another nail varnish which reminds me of cold frosty days is Models Own’s Southern Lights. A bluey purple micro glitter which you can get opaque on it’s own.

Models Own Southern Lights

Next is Revlon Parfumerie’s Wintermint, which for me, for some reason, just seems to have a cold quality to it. When I look at it I think of the cold.

Revlon Parfumerie Wintermint

I love blue nail varnish any time of year, but I have some which I love in winter. This is OPI’s Kiss Me At Midnight. Again this is a textured nail varnish but I always wear it with a topcoat and that’s how it’s shown in the photo. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

OPI Kiss Me At Midnight (with topcoat)

And next is one of my favourite nail varnishes ever, Zoya’s Dream. I will wear this at any time of the year, I love it so much, but I really do find myself reaching for it a lot in winter because it does have that clear winter’s night sky filled with stars effect about it. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

Zoya Dream

Winter often brings with it grey skies and one nail varnish which I’m loving for winter this year which reminds me of that is Love Thy Polish’s He Lives In You. It has a grey base, with white, red and blue glitter in it. The white kind of makes me think of snow falling and the blue and red help give it a festive touch. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

Love Thy Polish He Lives In You

And the last of my picks is H&M’s Pink Skies. This is a dusty pinky peach colour, which reminds me of the thin, pale sunrises we often get in winter. And it looks great with a sprinkle of silver glitter over it, or a flakie varnish.

H&M Pink Skies

When I was making my picks, I just went through my collection picking out my favourites for this time of year. But then when I had them all together you can tell just how much I love these nail varnishes due to the sheer amount of them that I do actually have an individual review of on my blog. I’m also thinking of doing a separate nail varnish picks post for my favourite Christmas nail varnishes. Let me know if you’d be interested. And I’d love to know your favourite nail varnishes for winter.

4 thoughts on “Nail Varnish Picks – Winter 2014

Leave a Reply

