Nail Varnish Picks – Autumn 2014

Nail Varnish Picks

Autumn 2014

So I’ll wear whatever nail varnish I want to when I want to wear it. But I do find that subconsciously the seasons do influence my choices and I thought of share what I think are going to be some of my favourite nail varnishes this autumn. I just went through my collection and picked out ten nail varnishes, without looking at my other selections and it seems like I’m really into greens and browns this autumn, with a couple of others added in.

This first colour is A-England’s Dragon. This is a true green nail varnish with loads of holographic silver shimmer in it. And like the majority of A-England nail varnishes you can get away with only using one coat.

A-England Dragon

This next colour is Essie’s Trophy Wife, a gorgeous deep teal type colour. I love jewel tones in the autumn and this definitely fits into that category.

Essie Trophy Wife

I also love metallic type colours for autumn, especially ones that remind me of the leaves changing colours. This is 1205 from Lovely Girl which I got in Portugal and is currently my favourite gold.

Lovely Girl 1205

And one of my all time favourite nail varnishes for autumn is China Glaze’s Harvest Moon. This is a metallicy, foily, coppery bronze brown colour, which is simply stunning on the nails.

China Glaze Harvest Moon

A different kind of brown nail varnish which I think is going to be perfect for autumn is Hard Candy’s Cocoa Smore. This is a light brown almost grey toned base, with matte white and black glitter in it. It totally reminds me of hot chocolate and is therefore perfect for autumn in my eyes.

Hard Candy Cocoa Smore

I’m definitely about browns this autumn. Another one I love is Zoya’s Cola, which is a red based brown. This is a crème varnish, which is really glossy. It can look very sophisticated on and is perfect to wear out.

Zoya Cola

Lac Attack’s Padfoot is a purple based brown with a ton of holographic shimmer in it. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.The shimmer in it just adds that special touch while it’s still a nice deep colour for autumn.

Lac Attack Padfoot

I’m already thinking that Dollish Polish’s I Volunteer As Tribute is possibly going to be my Firework Night manicure, if I don’t decide to go for something a little bit brighter. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

Dollish Polish I Volunteer As Tribute

Autumn here in England often means rain, and lots of it, and grey skies. And at those times I do find myself reaching for grey nail varnishes. One of my favourites for autumn is Illamasqua’s Raindrops, which is a light grey with small silver flakes in it.

Illamasqua Raindrops

And one nail varnish I am determined to use this autumn is Oopsie Daisies’s Apple Picking. I’ve swatched it over a green varnish in the photo but I think I really want to wear it over a brown colour. It is a glitter topper in red, orange, yellow and green and completely reminds me of the leaves changing colours.

Apple Picking over Wellies

7 thoughts on “Nail Varnish Picks – Autumn 2014

  1. It is a stunning nail varnish. It’s one of the nail varnishes I own where you can actually see by looking at the bottle how much I love it, I must be about a quarter of the way down, which for me is a huge achievement considering the amount of nail varnish I have. I love those type of jewel tones for the autumn months. 🙂 xxx

  2. A-England make some lovely nail varnishes, Dragon is quite a true green colour. Depending on what shade of green you’re looking for you might want to consider A-England’s Saint George which is a green with much more teal in it, so if you’re looking for a more emerald type colour it might suit better. You can check out my Top Five A-England nail varnishes (https://randomnessilike.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/top-five-a-england-nail-varnishes-winter-2013/#more-1044) if you’d like to see a swatch of Saint George. Or just search on google. 🙂 xxx

  3. I love being able to see just by glancing at a bottle that I have actually used a nail varnish. I seem to have so many that I know I’ve used loads but you’d look at the bottle and think it was unopened, so annoying! I’ve being toying with the idea of a post something along the lines of “nail varnishes you can visibly see I’ve used”. xxx

Leave a Reply

