Makeup Remover Review – Benefit They’re Real! Remover

Makeup Remover Review

Benefit – They’re Real! Remover

My mum surprised both my sister and I a month or so ago with a tube of the new Benefit They’re Real! Remover. My mum works at Debenhams and therefore can get staff discount on certain items and I think she just really wanted to know what this product is like after hearing so much about it. And neither my sister nor I were going to complain.

Benefit They're Real! Remover 003

The Benefit They’re Real! Remover is to remove eye makeup and one the back of the packaging it claims that it “lifts away even longwearing and waterproof mascara and eyeliner with a gentle-yet-powerful formula”. Now I’m not the type of person who wears makeup everyday, but when I do I use a Micellar Water (currently I’m using the one from Garnier) and I really like how that works, but I was curious to try something new.

So I’ve used the They’re Real! Remover a couple of times now and I thought I’d share my thoughts on it. Firstly the claim that it “lifts away even longwearing and waterproof mascara and eyeliner”. Yes, it definitely does that and it does it easily. When I used this every trace of eye makeup that I was wearing was gone, it definitely does what it says on the tube. And secondly the claim that it is “gentle”. I’ll also agree with that, it is very gentle on the skin, no rubbing is involved and my eyes and the skin around them didn’t feel sore at all when I used this, although obviously, be careful not to get the product in your eye.

The directions on the back say to “saturate a cotton pad and gently wipe away eye makeup. Rinse off.” First things first, you cannot saturate a cotton pad with this product, it’s too thick to do that, it is a cream formula. The way I use it is to put a squeeze of the product in the centre of a cotton pad and then fold that cotton pad in half to distribute the product over the cotton pad and then using that to wipe away my makeup. And the instruction to “rinse off”. This is definitely required, when you wipe away your makeup it does kind of leave a film of product on your eye, so much so that I could practical see it on my eyelashes and I could definitely feel it. This is something that I didn’t really appreciate and I’m trying not to let it make me dislike the product, because it does do a great job at removing my makeup.

But as to whether or not I would buy this product again? I’m not really sure. It’s £14.50 for 50ml, so it is on the pricey side. And although it just does a better job at removing my eye makeup than my Micellar Water, there isn’t much in it. I’ll definitely finish off the rest of my tube and certainly wouldn’t say no if someone gave me another one, but until then, for the price, I’ll probably be sticking to my Micellar Water. I’m probably going to save the They’re Real! Remover for those times when I’m wearing a lot of eye makeup, because as I said, it does do an amazing job of removing it.

Leave a Reply

