Nail Art – Jockey Jerseys

Nail Art

Jockey Jerseys

So every year my family goes to the big race meeting at York for one day, the Ebor festival. And this year I decided it was the perfect excuse to do some bright coloured nail art, before I start getting into all the darker autumn and winter colours. The jerseys the jockeys wear offer endless possibilities for nail art and as long as you can create lines and dots, you could create this look. It can be very much mix and match, put whatever colours you want together, with whatever pattern you want. But this is how I created this look.

Jockey Jerseys Nail Art (1)

I started off with a base coat as normal, I used A-England’s The Knight. I painted my thumb red using OPI’s Coca-Cola Red, my index finger a deep bright purple colour using China Glaze’s Creative Fantasy, my middle finger a medium pink using OPI’s If You Moust You Moust, my ring finger blue using Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear’s Pacific Blue and my little finger a light silver colour using OPI’s I Want To Be A-Lone Star, which is on my Unfeatured Nail Varnish List.

My index finger is the only design which I based loosely off an actual Jockey’s Jersey that I know of and although the others probably exist I just made them up as I went along, but they are likely combinations. But the design on my index finger is actually based on the colours the jockey riding for the Queen would usually wear, although it’s not an exact copy. So on either side of the purple base colour I drew a curved line going down my nail in red and filled it, I used OPI’s Coca-Cola Red, to represent the red sleeves of the jockey’s jersey. And then from those sleeves and to the bottom of my nail I created a gold ‘V’ shape using A-England’s Holy Grail (the original limited edition version).

Jockey Jerseys Nail Art (3)

On the red base colour on my thumb I added some blue vertical stripes using Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear’s Pacific Blue. I done all the stripes free hand with a small nail art brush, I didn’t have time to faff on with striping tape.

On the pink base colour on my middle finger I created green horizontal stripes using Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine’s Key Lime. I love how these two colours look together.

On the blue base colour on my ring finger I created yellow dots with a medium dotting tool using Models Own’s Sun Kissed.

And on the silver base colour on my little finger I used a small nail art brush to create a row of pink diamonds going across the middle of my nail using OPI’s If You Moust You Moust.

And I finished everything off with a top coat, I used A-England’s The Shield. This design is super easy to create and I love how versatile it is, you really can use any colour and patterns you want!

Jockey Jerseys Nail Art (2)

Leave a Reply

