Dollish Polish Haul – August 2014

Dollish Polish Haul

August 2014

So, I’d heard about Dollish Polish on a load of different blogs and although I really, really wanted to try some of their nail varnishes, I managed to resist, considering how expansive my nail varnish collection is. Then Dollish Polish released their Ultimate Fandom Collection. And I was unable to resist no more, end of story. Although I did manage to narrow it down to buying only four nail varnishes, I wanted a few others, but just went with my four favourites. I bought all of these nail varnishes from Dollish Polish’s website. And I bought what is classed as the mini size, which is 9ml, as opposed to full sized which is 15ml. My Topshop nail varnishes are some of my favourites, and they’re only 8ml, so I figured 9ml was definitely big enough and I wouldn’t really describe them as mini.

This first nail varnish is One Lifetime With You and is inspired by Lord of the Rings. This possibly isn’t the first colour I would imagine when designing a Lord of the Rings nail varnish collection, and believe me, if anyone who makes nail varnish wants to and needs inspiration, then get in touch! But this nail varnish is about Arwen and Aragorn’s love story and is inspired by Arwen’s dress in the film from the scene where she tells Aragorn she would rather spend one lifetime with him then to live forever. This is currently the only one of the four I have worn and it took three thinnish coats to get it completely opaque. It is a lovely lilacy purple colour with different purple and blue micro glitters in it.

Dollish Polish One Lifetime With You This next nail varnish is I Volunteer As Tribute, obviously inspired by the Hunger Games, where Katniss volunteers as a tribute to participate in the 74th Annual Hunger Games instead of her sister Prim. This is a black jelly type base, with red, gold and possible copper hex glitter in it. It took three coats to be completely opaque and it was a nightmare to photograph. In the photo it looks like the glitter is sticking up off my nail, but that wasn’t the case in real life. It could probably benefit from a topcoat to smooth it all out, although the photo below is without topcoat. You can read my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

Dollish Polish I Volunteer As Tribute

This next nail varnish is These Are Not The Droids You Are Looking For, very obviously inspired by Star Wars. Seriously, if you put C3PO and R2-D2 in a blender, you would get this nail varnish. It is a densely backed micro glitter in shades of gold, silver and blue. There are also a couple of flakes in there as well as the glitter. I used three coats for the photo below and it was just about opaque. When I do actually wear this nail varnish as a manicure I will layer it over another nail varnish.

Dollish Polish These Are Not The Droids You Are Looking For

And the last nail varnish I got was The Deathly Hallows, inspired by Harry Potter. This nail varnish is a clear based varnish with a silver shimmer and then has bar glitter, triangle glitter and doughnut glitter in it to represent the three Deathly Hallows in Harry Potter, the Elder Wand, the Resurrection Stone and the Cloak of Invisibility. I layered this over e.l.f’s black in the photo below and as it is a chunky glitter, I did need to dab to get the glitter to go where I wanted it. I have to do a little bit of fishing for the doughnut glitter, but it wasn’t too bad.

The Deathly Hallows over Black

6 thoughts on “Dollish Polish Haul – August 2014

  1. OMG these nail polishes are fab! I am in love with the Harry Potter one – I will definitely be checking these out πŸ™‚ xx

  2. I think they’re amazing, I love nail varnishes inspired by my favourite books, films and tv shows, I’ve got a number of Harry Potter nail varnishes from different brands. I was really tempted by the Doctor Who varnish from this collection but I managed to resist for now! You’ll have to let me know if you do decide to get any πŸ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

