Nail Art – Le Tour De France 2014

Nail Art

Le Tour De France 2014

This is such a simple look that I’m hesitant to call it nail art at all. Anyone who has read my blog for a while will know that I love combining my love of nail art with my love of sport, although I’m definitely more of a spectator than a participator. Last weekend I was lucky enough to go and see the Tour De France as it departed from Yorkshire, which is something I never, ever thought I’d get to see, it had never even crossed my mind. It was two very early starts on a week, a lot of sitting around in the sun for the actual event to be over in a couple of seconds but it was completely worth it.

Tour De France Nail Art (1)

I didn’t have time to do nail art for when I actually saw the Tour De France, but I knew that I did want to do some. For my actual trip to see the Tour De France, I wore China Glaze’s Sun-Kissed (layered over white) to represent the Yellow Jersey the leader and winner of the Tour De France wears. And that colour does also feature prominently in this nail art look.

Tour De France Nail Art (2)

I started with a base coat, I’m currently using Collection 2000′s Nail Care 2 in 1 Base Coast and Ridge Filler with Keratin. Then I painted all my nails with one coat of a white nail varnish, I used e.l.f’s White. I added a second coat of white to my middle and ring finger to completely even them out and make them opaque.

My index finger I painted yellow for the iconic Tour De France Yellow Jersey the leader and winner of the Tour De France gets to wear. The yellow nail varnish I used was China Glaze’s Sun-Kissed, to match the manicure I wore when I saw the actual Tour De France. This is a neon nail varnish, which is why I layered it over white and it has a hint of shimmer. It is brighter than the actual Yellow Jersey, but you get the idea.

I used the white as my base colour for my middle finger and then drew on what is supposed to be a bike wheel. I was going to try and draw a bike but my practice attempts did not work out well, so I settled on a bike wheel of a style. Using a small nail art brush and a black nail varnish, I used e.l.f’s Black, and drew a large circle on the centre of my nail and then drew three interconnecting lines going through the centre of it.

I also used the white as my base colour on my index finger. I then used a small to medium dotting tool and a red nail varnish, I used OPI’s Coca-Cola Red and created a polka dot pattern. This is to represent the red on white polka dot jersey the rider crowned “King of the Mountains” wears.

Then on my thumb and my little finger I done a white to yellow to black gradient to go with the rubber bracelet I got. I used a sponge to make the gradient and used e.l.f’s White, China Glaze’s Sun-Kissed and e.l.f’s Black. And then I finished everything with a topcoat, I used Sally Hansen’s Insta-Dri topcoat.

And I thought I’d show you some of the photos I took of Le Tour De France, on the first day especially we had an amazing view!

Tour de France 2014 Day 1 038

Tour de France 2014 Day 1 039

Tour de France 2014 Day 1 050

Tour de France 2014 Day 1 051

Tour de France 2014 Day 1 053

2 thoughts on “Nail Art – Le Tour De France 2014

Leave a Reply

