Nail Varnish Review – Lac Attack Padfoot

Nail Varnish Review

Padfoot

Padfoot is from Lac Attack’s new Magical Mischief collection, which is their second collection based on the world of Harry Potter. You’ll know if you’ve read some of my other nail varnish reviews that I love Harry Potter and I think that combining it with one of my other favourite things, nail varnish, is genius. This is the first nail varnish I’ve tried from this newest collection and as with most other Lac Attack nail varnishes I’ve tried, I’m totally in love. You can read my love of the Beauxbatons Academy nail varnish from the previous Harry Potter collection by clicking here.

Lac Attack Padfoot

Padfoot is a chocolatey brown colour with purple undertones and is jam packed with silver shimmer which does have a subtle holographic effect. This covered perfectly in two coats and looks stunning on the nail.

Padfoot is named for the character of Sirius Black, Harry Potter’s Godfather. Padfoot was the nickname his school friends gave him when they were at Hogwarts because his Animagus form is a large black dog. I’m not really sure why they choose a brown nail varnish for this character, black with purple undertones would have made more sense to me, but that doesn’t stop this from being a beautiful colour.

Okay, so it’s a Harry Potter collection, I was always going to buy some of the varnishes. But with Sirius being one of my favourite characters from the entire series I was always going to get the nail varnish named after him, even if I wasn’t particularly keen on the colour. (That’s really bad, isn’t it? It might be time to admit I’ve got a slight problem…). I think the reason why this colour didn’t appeal to me when I looked at the collection, is because it is a brown. I very rarely wear just a brown nail varnish, although I use it plenty in nail art and even to create accent nails. But this does have so much purple in it that it makes it really interesting and really unique in my vast nail varnish collection and I really do love the colour now. I’m not sure what I was thinking when I tried this one first out of the ones I ordered, but I’m glad I did.

The formula on this was brilliant and it was completely opaque in two coats. It wasn’t too difficult to remove either, although it wasn’t as easy as some other varnishes, but that’s due to the amount of shimmer in it.

I love Lac Attack’s brushes, I find them really easy to use. But that is simply my personal preference. With having really small nails, I prefer my nail varnish brushes to be on the thinner side.

I’ve got a couple more of the nail varnishes from the Magical Mischief collection to try, but I think this is going to remain one of my favourites!

8 thoughts on “Nail Varnish Review – Lac Attack Padfoot

  1. Yes, they’re an indie brand. I bought all of mine online from the Harlow & Co website. They’re well worth the money if you’re willing to pay a little bit more for indie varnishes and shipping. The shipping wasn’t crazily expensive and my package arrive really quickly, so I was very impressed. I mainly bought this for the name but the nail varnish is actually stunning. xxx

  2. I’ve really got into indie nail varnishes in the last six months or so and Lac Attack are probably one of my favourite of the indie brands I’ve tried. Of course it helps that they have two Harry Potter collections! xxx

Leave a Reply

