Nails of the Month – January 2014

Nails of the Month

January 2014

The first nail varnish I used this month was Illamasqua’s Force. My camera, however, has completely messed with the colour, it looks very blue in the photo but in real life it is much more purple, kind of like a very blue based purple.

Illamasqua Force

Then I done this nail art celebrating the season finale of BBC’s Atlantis which had aired a few days earlier. You can see how I created this look by clicking here.

Atlantis Nail Art

Next I wore China Glaze’s It’s A Trap-eze. I’d wanted to wear this in the lead up to Christmas but had not had the time to do so, so I eventually got around to wearing it.

China Glaze It's A Trap-eze

Then I wore OPI’s Kiss Me At Midnight, my second ever liquid sand nail varnish. I, of course, wore it with topcoat, as I’m not a fan of textured nail varnish. You can see my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

OPI Kiss Me At Midnight (with topcoat)

Next came this Lord of the Rings nail art. You can see the inspiration behind this design and how I created it by clicking here. I am totally in love with this design, I think it came out brilliantly.

Lord of the Rings Nail Art (1)

Then I wore Alanna Renee’s Hedwig, you can see my review on this nail varnish by clicking here.

Alanna Renee Hedwig

And then I wore Zoya’s Aurora. I’d lent this nail varnish to a friend and when they returned it I couldn’t resist wearing it again

Zoya Aurora

Next up was Belle Glamour’s Harry. Belle Glamour are a new English Indie brand and you can see my review on this nail varnish by clicking here.

Belle Glamour Harry (2)

Then I wore Lac Attack’s Padfoot. This is a chocolatey brown colour with purple tones and holographic shimmer. I’m totally in love with this nail varnish, it looked stunning on the nail. You can see my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

Lac Attack Padfoot

Then I wore Models Own Valerian. I wore this with a topcoat. It’s supposed to dry to a matte finish, but I’m not really a fan and when I put the topcoat on, it looked so stunning. It had so much depth and gave quite a starry night look. My friends at work went absolutely crazy for this colour.

Models Own Valerian (with topcoat)

Then I needed to paint my nails quickly so I went with one of my all time favourite nail varnishes, A-England’s Tristam.

A-England Tristam (2)

Next I wore Hard Candy’s Cocoa Smore. I’ve been eyeing this for ages but never got round to wearing it, so I finally managed to.

Hard Candy Coca Smore

I caved in and bought some of Barry M’s new textured nail varnishes. The first one I wore was Barry M’s Lady, and me being me I wore it with topcoat. You can also see my review of this nail varnish by clicking here.

Barry M Lady (with topcoat)

Models Own Absinthe is from the same collection as Valerian and again is supposed to be worn matter. But, once again, I added topcoat. This was lovely on, but I prefer Valerian. Absinthe was the nail varnish I originally wanted most, but I have fallen completely in love with Valerian and can’t wait to wear it again.

Models Own Absinthe (with topcoat)

The I wore Sonnetarium’s Raspberry Sorbet. I was craving spring nail varnishes and this seemed like a happy medium as I’m not quite ready for the pastel and neon nail varnishes of spring and summer (and the weather certainly isn’t ready!).

Sonnetarium Raspberry Sorbet (2)

Next I created this Fox Nail Art look. You can see how I created this look and the inspiration behind it by clicking here.

Fox Nail Art

And next I created this really simple Constellations Nail Art look. You can click here to see the inspiration behind this design and how I created it.

Constellations Nail Art

Then my shifts changed at work and I’m now doing my full time hours over four days instead of five, and getting a Thursday off. But this means working 10 hour days, the other four days and I knew it was going to be no easy task. So for the first of these shifts I wanted to wear something slightly more professional looking and wore Zoya’s Nikki with Models Own Northern Lights as an accent nail.

Nikki with Northern Lights

And the last nail varnish I wore in January was Illamasqua’s Mottle. This has quite a spring feel to it, but I wore it as part of an outfit I planned to wear to an engagement party, but then I got sick and didn’t get to go. It’s still a really pretty colour though.

Illamasqua Mottle

2 thoughts on “Nails of the Month – January 2014

  1. I love Illamasqua nail varnishes. I couldn’t decide if Force was a blue or a purple the entire time I wore it. I just bought a load more Illamasqua nail varnishes as well when they had some on sale on their website for £5 each. xxx

Leave a Reply

