Nail Varnish Review – Alanna Renee Hedwig

Nail Varnish Review

Alanna Renee – Hedwig

Hedwig is part of Alanna Renee’s Magical World collection based on the world of Harry Potter and is named after Harry’s faithful friend, his pet Snowy Owl, Hedwig. This nail varnish has a milky white base and is jam packed with white and black micro glitter, slightly larger (but still small) gold glitter and white bar glitter. I think this nail varnish represents Harry’s Owl perfectly.

Alanna Renee Hedwig

If anyone has seen my posts about Lac Attack’s Beauxbatons Academy and Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes nail varnishes then you’ll know I’m a huge Harry Potter fan and that I think combining Harry Potter with nail varnish is a brilliant idea. I was googling Harry Potter nail varnish collections when I came across Alanna Renee’s Magic World collection and instantly fell in love with the swatches I saw. Now that I had found a brand with a Harry Potter collection I now needed to find somewhere that would ship them to England. This came in the form of color4nails‘s website. To be honest, the shipping was a bit more than I would usually like to pay, but it was the only place I could get my hands on these nail varnishes – I bought five in total from the collection. And if I wanted something enough I would definitely order from the color4nails website again, I had no problems with them and the shipping was quite quick.

The application of this nail varnish was quite easy, even with all the glitter. It is fairly sheer on the first coat, but is completely opaque within two to three coats depending on how thick you do them. I usually always do really thin coats and am sometimes tempted to add a fourth coat with this nail varnish, even though I know the base colour is opaque. It can be a little difficult to tell though and the next time I wear this nail varnish I am debating wearing it over a white. That being said, you don’t need to though, you can get this varnish opaque on it’s own, it really just depends on how you want it to look.

I’ve worn this nail varnish several times now and I really do love it. White nail varnish is not something I would ever consider wearing on it’s own, but when it’s got glitter in it I really like it. And this varnish does remind me of a Snowy Owl. When I first got this nail varnish I didn’t even realise there was bar glitter in it until I wore it on my nails. The bar glitter adds a delicate feel to this nail varnish and does perfectly remind me of feathers, so perfect for a nail varnish inspired by a Snowy Owl.

I’ve been really impressed with all the nail varnishes I’ve tried from Alanna Renee’s Magical World collection and I would love to try some others from Alanna Renee, there are some on the color4nails website that look really amazing. But for now I’ll resist. If any England based stockist ever get them though, then my bank balance is going to be in great danger.

Has anyone ever tried any nail varnishes from Alanna Renee? Or any other Harry Potter nail varnishes. If you have, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

