Nail Art – Doctor Who – The Day Of The Doctor

Nail Art

Doctor Who – The Day Of The Doctor

50th Anniversary Special

Okay, so I can be classed as a total geek. I’m a big sci-fi fan, both film wise and book wise. Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, The Book of the Crow, The Sword of Truth, Narnia, Merlin, Torchwood, Doctor Who? I’m all over it. So I was waiting for the 50th anniversary special of Doctor Who with bated breath and it did not disappoint. I’ll admit that I’m not the biggest fan of Matt Smith’s doctor, but I’ve loved Rory as a character, but I was most excited to see David Tennant back as the Doctor. And John Hurt was amazing as well. And that glimpse of Peter Capaldi? Let’s just say I can’t wait until the Christmas special.

So, with it being the 50th anniversary special, I created this Doctor Who nail art. I didn’t have much time so I kept it pretty simple. On my thumb, middle and little finger I created galaxies, on my index finger I created a Dalek and on my ring finger I created the Tardis.

Doctor Who Nail Art

So as always I started with a base coat (A-England’s The Knight). Then I painted my thumb, middle and little fingers black (A-England’s Camelot), my index finger a metallic-y grey colour (A-England’s King Arthur) and my ring finger a deep bright blue (Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine’s Blue Grape).

I created the galaxies on my nails first. What I love about galaxy nail art is that it looks so complex but is actually quite simple to create. So firstly over the black I used a make up sponge dipped in white nail varnish (Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White) and sponged a diagonal line across my nail. Then I used a deep blue nail varnish (Collection 2000 Lasting Colour’s Blue My Mind) and sponged that on either side of the white line, over lapping on to it slightly. Then I sponged a little bit of yellow and pink over the white (Barry M’s Lemon Ice-Cream and Barry M’s Strawberry Ice-Cream) and that is the basic galaxy look finished. I added a few small dots in white to create stars (Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White) and then used two different glitter nail varnishes to create the effect of more stars, a really fine one (China Glaze’s Fairy Dust) and a chunkier one (New York Color Expert Last’s Lights-Camera-Glitter).

To create the Dalek on my ring finger I drew three horizontal black lines near the top of my nail (A-England’s Camelot). Above that I created a black dot and then placed a smaller white dot inside that to create the Dalek’s “eye”. Then underneath the three horizontal lines I used a large dotting tool to create two rows of three dots in a bluey grey colour (Collection 2000 Hot Looks’ Button Moon). And that’s the Dalek finished, super easy!

The Tardis was the most difficult aspect of this nail art and I’m not completely taken on how this has turned out. Over the blue I started by painting a thick black stripe near the top of my nail (A-England’s Camelot). Coming down from that I created a thin vertical stripe in a darker blue colour (Collection 2000 Lasting Colour’s Blue My Mind). Then on either side of that stripe I created a white square (Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White) and used a black to create a cross (+) on it (A-England’s Camelot). Underneath those white squares I created two more squares in the darker blue (Collection 2000 Lasting Colour’s Blue My Mind), but they are a little difficult to see on the nail. And above the original thick black stripe I added a small square in yellow(Barry M’s Lemon Ice-Cream), I painted it white first and then put the yellow over that.

And finally to smooth everything out I finished with a top coat (A-England’s The Shield).

Overall I quite like how these turned out, particularly the galaxies and the Dalek.

Leave a Reply

