Tag – Colours of the Rainbow Tag – Beauty Edition – November 2013

Colours of the Rainbow Tag

Beauty Edition

November 2013

So, I watched a load of the Colours of the Rainbow Tag videos on YouTube this summer. And I’ve kind of made an early New Year’s Resolution, I want to try and post a lot more regularly on my blog. So I’ve been looking for topics and ideas which I can prepare ahead of time. And one of the things I came up with was to do some of my favourite Tags from YouTube.

Now from watching the videos I get the idea that many American’s are taught to remember the order of the colours of the rainbow by learning the name Roy. G. Biv. Here in England we are usually taught the phrase Richard Of York Gave Battle In Vain, and that is certainly the way I remember them. I also really like it about I’m a big history fan and this phrase refers to Richard Duke of York’s defeat at the battle of Wakefield during the War of the Roses in 1460. Richard himself was never King but two of his sons were, Edward IV and Richard III.

It varied from person to person whether they choose a product whose packaging matched the colour or whether they went for the colour of the product itself. I’m going with packaging, it was easier! For some products I also have an honourable mention because it was difficult to just choose one. Also a lot of the videos added in categories for pink and multicoloured. I’m going to do the seven colours of the rainbow, pink, gold, silver, black and white.

For my Red product I choose my  Coca-Cola Lip Smacker lip balm. This is a giant size one my sister got me last Christmas and it smells and tastes so good! Anyone who read my Lip Balm Collection post will know how much I love lip balm in general, but this really is one of my favourites.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (3)

For Orange I have gone with my Lookin’ To Rock Rita Perfume from Benefit. Okay, so there are a few different colours on the packaging, but there is a lot of orange, so it counts in my eyes. (Plus I was struggling to come up with something). The photo doesn’t really show the orange on the packaging.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (13)

For my Yellow production I finally decided on my Olay Essentials Complete Care Plus Everyday Sunshine Moisturising Cream. This has been my main facial moisturiser all summer and I look the smell of it and the feel of it on my skin, and it really does give you a glow. My Colossal Volume Express Mascara from Maybelline New York gets an honourable mention in this category as it has been the mascara I’ve been using everyday recently. To be honest though, I have never found a mascara that I really like, and this is no exception, but that may be because I am really awful at applying mascara.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (9) Colours of the Rainbow Tag (10)

For Green I have chose my Kind to Skin Cleansing Facial Wipes from Simple. I use these everyday to take off my make up. An honourable mention also goes to my Body Shop Tea Tree Face Mask, the only reason why I didn’t choose this product outright is because I have only recently re-discovered it after not using it for a while.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (8) Colours of the Rainbow Tag (5)

For Blue I have chose my Optrex ActiMist Eye Spray. I love this because I can use it with my contact lenses, I find it really hard to find eye drops that are contact lense safe, and this comes in a spray which is even between because drops are so tricky to apply.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (2)

For Indigo I had to choose my Nivea Creme, mainly because it was the only product anywhere close to what could be classed as “indigo” packaging. But I always use my Nivea Creme more in winter, so I don’t feel guilty about including this. My camera also couldn’t capture the colour correctly, it’s showing as much more blue than it actually is.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (11)

For Violet I have gone with my Elegant Touch Nail Varnish Remover. This is the Get ‘Em Off variety which contains acetone and is pretty much the only nail varnish remover I ever use.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (12)

For Pink I have my Soap and Glory Love at First Blush blush. This is the blush I’ll probably use all autumn and winter, though during the summer I tend to use a bronzer for blush.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (7)

For Gold I’ve chose my Estée Lauder Eyeshadow in Tempting Mocha Shimmer. My mum gave me this eyeshadow not so long ago as I kept borrowing it from her and it’s practically been the only eyeshadow I’ve used for weeks.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (4)

For Silver I have this compact mirror for Breast Cancer awareness, which always stays in my bag.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (6)

For White I’ve choose this Kind to Skin Hydrating Light Moisturiser from Simple. I haven’t used it yet but it was the only thing I could find with white packaging. And I am going to start using it pretty soon, as soon as I’ve finished my Olay moisturiser.

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (7)

And finally for Black I have my Master Smoky Shadow Pencil Eyeliner from Maybelline New York, which I got the same time as my mascara. I would really love to be able to use a liquid liner, but I can’t apply it for the life of me!

Colours of the Rainbow Tag (1)

Leave a Reply

