Nails of the Month – October 2013

Nails of the Month

October 2013

October was somewhat a strange month for me. I was nicely into all the autumnal shades and then I went on holiday with my mum and sister and felt the need to break out some brighter colours again!

The first colour I wore was A-England’s Lady of Shalott. This is one of the few A-England nail varnishes which disappoints me. It looks so much better in the bottle than it does on the nail, the blue shimmer doesn’t really translate all that well. But I only had around ten minutes to paint my nails, and I needed something which I knew I could get away with only doing one coat with, so this is what I grabbed.

A-England Lady of Shalott

Then I got into the Halloween spirit early and attempted this skull nail art design from Hannah Rox Nails. The varnishes I used were A-England’s Avalon and Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White.

Skulls and Dots Nail Art (2)

Then I went to see Jesus Christ Superstar and the manicure I wore was Alanna Renee’s Fawkes over A-England’s Perceval. Click here to see my Outfit of the Day post from this evening out.

Fawkes over Perceval

Next I wore Essie’s Trophy Wife and I created an accent nail with Alanna Renne’s Golden Snitch. This look was so pretty!

Trophy Wife with Golden Snitch

Then I was in the autumn/Halloween mood again and I created this Pumpkin Patch nail art. For the base colour I used Borghese Rapido’s Costello Blue and American Apparel’s Cocoa. For the Pumpkins I used A-England’s Camelot, Topshop’s Smashing Pumpkin, Topshop’s Louder and American Apparel’s Cocoa. And for the vines I used Essie’s Moijito Madness.

Pumpkin Patch Nail Art (5)

And then I went on holiday and I used my neon nail varnishes for what will probably be the last time this year. I created a sunset gradient by sponging China Glaze’s Splish Splash, Pool Party and Orange You Hot? over Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White. This manicure was heavily chipped by the time I thought to take a photo, so I got arty with my camera while visiting the Acropolis of Lindos. And the blurriness helps disguise how chipped my nails were!

Rhodes 2013 (96)

I only had the time and inclination to paint my nails once whilst I was on holiday and the nail varnish I took with me to use was Picture Polish’s Ocean. I don’t have a picture of this because my nails were chipped beyond repair by the time I got home and thought about taking a photo.

Once I got home I wanted to wears something more autumnal and I decided to wear Beautifully Disney’s Ocean Mist. I got some really nice comments on this when I went back to work.

Beautifully Disney Ocean Mist

And finally I wore what I’m considering to be my Halloween manicure, when I wore Lac Attack’s Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes over A-England’s Camelot. You can click here to read how excited I was to finally get my paws on Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes. I loved wearing this manicure, it was so pretty!

Weasley's Wizard Wheezes over Camelot

Leave a Reply

