The Nail Wheel Of Fortune – Month Three – August 2013 – Neon and Glitter

The Nail Wheel of Fortune

Month Three

August 2013

This month I made my Nail Wheel of Fortune a little different. All my swatches correspond to a spreadsheet and every swatch has it’s own number. Since summer now seems to be drawing towards it’s end here in northern England, I decided that I wanted to wear more neon colours and more glitters. So I used random.org to pick a number, and the first glitter or neon varnish under that number on my list is the one I wore.

And so this post is super late in going up, but one of my best friends came across from America for a visit and we went to Edinburgh, so I’ve been busy having fun!

So the first glitter randomly chosen was Lac Attack’s Muggles. I was originally going to layer this over E.l.f’s Lilac, but when I went to get that varnish E.l.f’s Mint Cream caught my eye and that is what I ended up using as my base colour.

Muggles over Mint Cream

Next I had to paint my nails in a hurry and didn’t have time to pick randomly. So I grabbed the first fast dry nail varnish I came to and that was Collection 2000 Hot Looks’ Hip Hop. I half justified this in that it is a bright colour, although not exactly neon.

Collection 2000 Hot Looks Hip Hop

Next I created this Neon Stripes nail art look, based on this Jaunty Juli YouTube video. I can’t remember the exact nail varnishes I used to create this look though.

Neon Stripes Nail Art

Once again I needed to paint my nails in a hurry and they needed it be something quite smart, so I grabbed one of my favourite A-England nail varnishes, Tristam.

A-England Tristam (2)

My next pick was Deborah Lippmann’s Across The Universe. I knew this nail varnish was quite sheer so I layered it over Wet n Wild Megalast’s I Need A Refresh-Mint.

Across The Universe over I Need A Refresh-Mint

Next up was Illamasqua’s Speckle, which is currently one of my favourite nail varnishes, so I was very glad when this was selected.

Illamasqua Speckle (2)

And then the next glitter was from an indie brand. This is Call Me Maybe from LAV Lacquer. The glitter was a little difficult to get out of the bottle at times, but I really love this nail varnish!

LAV Lacquer Call Me Maybe

The next pick was Ozotic’s 534. I decided that this could kind of class as a glittery shimmery varnish so it was included.

Ozotic 534

Next was Barry M’s Dolly Mixture and I wore this over Essie’s Navigate Her. I think this would be really nice in the spring, the colours just remind me of the season and it looked so pretty and delicate.

Dolly Mixture over Navigate Her

And then finally a neon! It was Essie’s Camera and I wore this over Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White.

Camera over Whirlwind White

The next pick was Nails Inc’s Cornwall. I pondered for the longest time about what to layer this glitter over and in the end I went with China Glaze’s For Audrey. I wasn’t really sure if it would work but I really liked how it turned out.

Cornwall over For Audrey

Then I attempted another water marble with Topshop’s Worlds End, Topshop’s Marine Scene, Butter London’s Teddy Girl and OPI’s If You Moust You Moust. I wasn’t amazingly taken with how this turned out.

Pink and Blue Water Marble

Next was Illamasqua’s Omen. I decided that it was shimmery enough to class as a glitter.

Illamasqua Omen

Then I created this Cherries and Polka Dots Nail Art look. The nail varnishes I used were Butter London’s Teddy Girl, OPI’s Red Hot Ayers Rock, Illamasqua’s Elope and Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White.

Cherries and Polka Dots Nail Art

Then I created this green and blue water marble with some of my Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine nail varnishes.

Blue and Green Water Marble (2)Blue and Green Water Marble (1)

My next pick was Topshop’s Moonstone and I created an accent nail with Sonnetarium’s with Strawberry Smoothie.

Moonstone with Strawberry Smoothie

Then I layered Lush Lacquer’s I Lost My Marbles over Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White. I am totally in love with this nail varnish! So, so beautiful! Lush Lacquer are now known as Polish Me Silly.

I Lost My Marbles over Whilwind White

Then I created this Balloon Nail Art look using Zoya’s Blu, Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White, A-England’s Camelot, New York Color In A Minute’s Lexington Yellow, New York Color In A Minute’s Water Street Blue, OPI’s Red Hot Ayers Rock and Illamasqua’s Elope.

Balloon Nail Art

And then I attempted my first ever Jelly Sandwich manicure using China Glaze’s Ride the Waves and Nails Inc’s Fitzroy Square. The photo was took after I’d worn this manicure for almost a week, so there is so visible chip wear. I will be creating some more Jelly Sandwiches, I loved how this looked on my nails.

Ride The Waves and Fitzroy Square Jelly Sandwich

And this marks one year of Nails of the Months posts – crazy!!!

Leave a Reply

