Nail Art – Royal Baby

Nail Art

In Honour of and Inspired by the birth of

His Royal Highness, Prince George of Cambridge

So when the news was announced earlier this week that Kate had gone into labour, both mum and I kept an eye on updates to see when our future monarch had arrived. And eagerly awaited to see if our future monarch would be a King or Queen. And now we know that our future monarch will be a King and Prince William and the Duchess of Cambridge have named him George Alexander Louis, a name I personally love.

I knew I wanted to create a nail art to celebrate the birth of the Royal Baby, but I didn’t really know what I wanted to do. Obviously I was going to go for a blue theme, and in the end I kept it pretty simple.

Royal Baby Nail Art (1)

I started with my favourite basecoat (A-England’s The Knight) and then I painted my thumb and little finger with a dark bright blue (I used Barry M’s Cobalt Blue), my index and ring finger white (I used Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White) and on my middle finger I painted a glittery baby blue (I used Sinful Colors’ Cinderella).

On the nails I painted white I then added a layer of fine glitter for added sparkle and the nail varnish I used was Butter London’s Frilly Knickers. Then I used my largest dotting tool and created baby blue dots over the white and the nail varnish I used to do this was Topshop’s World’s End.

On my thumb and little finger I created a version of the Union Jack Flag, although instead of using blue, white and red, I used blue, white and gold. So I created a cross over the blue with white and then added diagonal lines going out from the centre to the corners of the nail to create the basic star shape on the Union Jack and again I used Sally Hansen Insta-Dri’s Whirlwind White. And then I went over the top of the white with gold and for this I used Barry M’s Gold Foil.

And on my middle finger I painted on a small crown in gold and red. The crown’s were actually fairly simply to paint. I started by painting a thick horizontal gold line towards the tip of my nail to form the base of the crown. The on top of that in the centre I drew a small oval shape and then two arches at the side. Then I drew a small gold cross on top of the oval. I then added a thinner sparkly red line to the middle of the base of the crown, and a small red dot in the middle of the cross at the top of the crown. The gold I used was Barry M’s Gold Foil and the red I used was A-England’s Rose Bower.

Then finally, I finished with my favourite topcoat, A-England’s The Shield.

Royal Baby Nail Art (2)

Leave a Reply

