Nail Art – Wimbledon 2013

Nail Art

Wimbledon 2013

So it’s that time of year again when my family settles in to watch Wimbledon for two weeks. And once again I was wearing a Wimbledon inspired manicure ready for the first match. This year I expanded on the design I wore last year, although I did copy some elements of it. To see that design, click here.

On my thumb I created a strawberry, on my index finger a tennis net, on my middle finger the Wimbledon sign, on my ring finger an Union Jack and on my little finger a tennis ball.

Wimbledon 2013 Nail Art (2)

So I started with my favourite base coat which is A-England’s The Knight. Then I painted my thumb red (I used OPI’s Red Hot Ayers Rock), my index finger a medium to dark green (I used Collection 2000 Hot Looks’ Ninja), my middle finger with a thin coat of white (I used E.l.f’s White), my ring finger a medium blue (I used Barry M’s Cobalt Blue) and my little finger a yellowy green colour (tennis ball colour basically, and I used Accessorize’s Carnival).

I began on my ring finger, where I created a large circle on the middle of my nail with and light bluey green nail varnish. I used Barry M’s Greenberry from the Gelly Hi-Shine range for this. While that was drying I took Essie’s Blanc and started to create the Union Jack on my ring finger by creating a thick horizontal and vertical line across the nail and then thinner diagonal ones. I also used Essie’s Blanc and drew two curved lines on the side if my little finger and that completed the tennis ball look on that nail.

Still using Essie’s Blanc, I went back to my middle finger and drew two crossed tennis racquets on the green circle. This was the most difficult part of the design as it was very fiddly. After getting rather frustrated with the tennis racquets at times, the rest of the design was fairly straightforward. I took OPI’s Red Hot Ayers Rock and completed the Union Jack on my ring finger by drawing red lines over the top of the white ones, making sure that the red diagonal lines did not touch the centre of the flag.

Next with a black nail varnish (I used A-England’s Camelot) I drew diagonal lines on my index finger in two opposite directions to form the tennis net. While that was drying I took Collection 2000 Hot Looks’ Ninja and drew a zigzag towards the top of my nail and then coloured it in to form the top of the strawberry. The using a yellow (for me George’s Buttercup Shine) I drew small vertical lines all over the red part of my thumb to create the strawberry’s seeds.

Then I returned to my middle finger and filled in around the edges of the green circle with a dark purple ( I used Barry M’s Indigo), making sure to leave a thin ring of white in between the green and the purple. To finish off the tennis net on my index finger I drew a thick white line across the top of my nail to form the top of the net and again I used Essie’s Blanc for this. And to complete the design I used Essie’s Blanc to go over the small ring of white between the purple and green on my middle finger.

And the finally step was to apply my favourite top coat, which for me is A-England’s The Shield. It did take two to three coats to smooth out the design completely.

Wimbledon 2013 Nail Art (1)

Wimbledon 2013 Nail Art (3)

Leave a Reply

