Nails of the Month – November 2012

Nails of the Month

November 2012

The first nail varnish I wore this month was Gypsy Night from Topshop. I bought this a couple of months ago with the intention of wearing it for Bonfire Night. I didn’t find that it was as pretty on the nail as it was in the bottle, and if I wear it again I would layer it over black. The glitter in it only seems to come out red and green on the nail and it was also quite goopy and difficult to work with. I did end up wearing it for almost a week though as I didn’t have the time to re-do my nails, so I do have a pretty bad chip on my thumb by the time I got round to taking a photo. I don’t know where the photo is that I took of this nail varnish, nor where the bottle of nail varnish is itself, as it’s not where it should be, which possibly means my younger sister may have borrowed it.

This look combines I Need A Refresh-Mint from Wet n Wild Megalast and I’ve put Frilly Knickers from Butter London over the top of it. This looked absolutely gorgeous on the nails but it was awful to remove. I’ve wanted to try the Wet n Wild Megalast nail varnishes for so long, but this one stained my nails so badly and was so difficult to remove that I’m hesitant to try another one. Frilly Knickers however is one of my all time favourite glitter top coats. And I especially love it at this time of year as it reminds me of winter and frost and snow.

I Need A Refresh-Mint with Frilly Knickers

I asked my sister to help me choose which nail varnish to wear next and she couldn’t decide between Nubar’s Nile Purple and OPI’s Skull and Glossbones, so I decided to wear them together.

Nile Purple with Skull and Glossbones

The next look I wore was similar in idea to the I Need A Refresh-Mint and Frilly Knickers combination I wore. I used E.l.f’s Mint Cream and then put Luxe and Lush from China Glaze over the top. I loved how this looked but my top coat bubbled awfully when I put it on, so I didn’t wear it for very long and didn’t take a photo. I think my bottle of Luxe and Lush could do with a few drops of thinner.

Mint Cream and Luxe and Lush

Next I wore A-England’s Tristam. I love A-England nail varnishes, I can’t speak highly enough about them.

Tristam

Next I simply painted my nails all the same colour. The colour I choose was 941 All Mighty by Sinful Colors. I really do love this colour.

Almighty

I really love this old Marks and Spencer nail varnish I have in the shade Lilac.I decided to put Sinful Colors’ Paris over it, thinking the purple and gold would go well together, but Paris was awful to apply, it was really runny and ended up flooding my cuticles badly. It looked so bad I didn’t take a photo.

Lilac and Paris

Next I wore Barry M Magnetic Blue. This is my first attempt at a Magnetic nail varnish, and either I got a dud magnet or I’m not doing it right because it so completely and utterly did not work! I didn’t take a photo since it didn’t work.

Magnetic Blue

I love Essie’s Head Mistress and simply had to wear it again. This time I created an accent nail with China Glaze’s I’m Not Lion.

Head Mistress with I'm Not Lion

And finally I wore Ruby Pumps by China Glaze. I chose this varnish because I was going to see Breaking Dawn Part 2 with some friends from work and I thought it suited quite well. I don’t have a photo of this because I’ve been super busy and by the time I remembered I needed to take a photo I’d been wearing it for over a week and it was badly chipped.

Ruby Pumps

On all the nail design’s I am wearing either Collection 2000′s 2 in 1 Base Coat and Ridge Filler with Keratin or A-England’s The Knight basecoat and A-England’s The Shield Top Coat.

Leave a Reply

