Nails of the Month – September 2012

Nails of the Month

September 2012

I’ve worn a lot of different nail varnishes this month, I’ve been changing my nail varnish every couple of days and I thought I’d share what I’ve been wearing on my nails this month.

I was making the most of the end of summer to wear my neon nail varnish and this look combines China Glaze’s Flirty Tankini with an accent nail in China Glaze’s Sun-Kissed. I think Flirty Tankini is my favourite nail varnish from China Glaze’s Summer Neon’s collection.

As I’ve said, I can wear whatever I like on my nails to work, so throughout the summer I have been wearing a lot of neons to work. However I had an important meeting so I did want to wear something slightly more work appropriate, not that anyone was paying attention to the colour of my nail varnish. But I went with China Glaze’s Fast Track. It’s a lovely beige colour with gold shimmer. And it is packed with gold shimmer, you can really see it when it’s on the nail, it’s really visible.

For this look I used Zoya’s Arizona with A-England’s Holy Grail. I really like this look, but I really wanted more of a silver leaning gold for the accent nail, where are Holy Grail is a very yellow leaning gold. Still pretty though. But if anyone knows of a nice gold nail varnish, please let me know.

Next I used OPI’s Mermaid’s Tears from the Pirates of the Caribbean collection and created a accent nail on my ring finger and thumb with Topshop’s glitter varnish Razzmatazz. I only used one layer of glitter on my thumb, but two layers on my ring finger. I wasn’t overly keen on this once I had it on my nails and I didn’t wear it for long. Mermaid’s Tears also really stained my nails badly, despite using a basecoat. Now I’m looking back at the photo of this design, I do actually quite like it…

I finally got the Hunger Games on Blu-Ray, so I decided to wear a Hunger Games nail varnish and just painted all of my nails with China Glaze’s Riveting.

I also got Titanic on Blu-Ray, so I created this design with NYX’s Titanic and then put Butter London’s Frilly Knickers over the top to create a kind of night sky effect. I absolutely loved this look, but the only downside was that it chipped really quickly, and I kept having to patch it up each night. It’s still a combination I’ll probably use again though. You can see on the photo some chipping as well, sorry! Frilly Knickers has got to be one of my favourite glitter topcoats though, it’s just lovely.

The weather has started to turn colder and I’ve started to reach more towards darker shades of nail varnish and the neons have been put away until next summer. For this look I used Accessorize’s  School Skirt and H&M’s Pale Violet. I’m not sure what made me wear them together, but I really liked the look they created together.

For this design I used Spa Ritual’s Running with Wolves and created an accent nail with Butter London’s Teddy Girl. Once again these aren’t usually two nail varnishes you would normally put together but I absolutely love how this combination looks. It’s more than likely something I will wear again this autumn.

For this look I used Essie’s Headmistress and then A-England’s Morgan Le Fay to create an accent nail. I love Essie’s Headmistress, it is such a nice lovely deep red colour. And I think it goes perfectly with a silver accent nail. I don’t think I’ll use Morgan Le Fay to create the accent nail if I decide to recreate the design, but probably more of a metallic silver varnish. Morgan Le Fay is very shimmery and also quite sheer.

I was asked to attend a course in another town on behalf of work, so I wanted to wear something which was kind of work appropriate, but still with a bit of sparkle. So I choose Accessorize’s Tuscan Clay and then put Barry M’s Gold Shatter on the top. Barry M’s Gold Shatter is one of those nail varnishes which I love to hate. That’s because it dries to a matte finish. I put it over Tuscan Clay and immediately thought “why did I just do that?!” Then I applied a topcoat and could see all the shimmer in the shatter nail varnish and realised that I had made the right choice. The nail varnish in the photo may look quite heavily chipped due as I got bored on the course and started to pick it off.

Since I had picked off the majority of my nail varnish of day two of the three day course, I needed to repaint my nails before the last day. Although I could have worn anything I wanted to (the woman running the course had purple nail varnish on) I still wanted to keep it quite work appropriate. So I went with Zoya’s Stephanie. This is the palest pink I own, it almost looks white. And although I need four coats to get it as opaque as I wanted it, it was totally worth it. I just love this nail varnish, and it’ll probably be one I reach for a lot if I need to wear something slightly more professional to work.

The next colours I wore were A-England’s Saint George and  Barry M’s Lilac Foil. I fell in love with this colour combination as soon as I put it on and even done a Nail of the Day post about it, to see that click here.

The next nail varnish I used was Grape Escape by Sally Hansen Insta Dri. I don’t have a photo of this varnish on my nails because it was chipping and I was bored at work and picked most of it off before remembering I hadn’t taken a photo yet. But by that time it was too late. This colour looks a lovely purple in the bottle but it appeared more blue on my nails and only purple in certain lights. It applied brilliantly and I only need one coat to get it completely opaque, but it chipped within a day, which was disappointing.

Next I used OPI’s Red Hot Ayers Rock, which is a nice bright red colour, and a good transition colour between summer and autumn. I created an accent nail using China Glaze’s Electrify from the Hunger Games collection and it’s a glitter nail varnish which just reminds me of autumn and falling leaves and bonfire night.

And the last design I wore on my nails in September was my only nail art of the month and this was inspired by the Ryder Cup. I have another post showing how I created this look, if you’re interested, click here. And Europe won in dramatic style, which wasn’t so good for my nail art as I started to pick at it as things got tense!

On all the nail design’s I am wearing Collection 2000′s 2 in 1 Base Coat and Ridge Filler with Keratin and either Essie’s Super Duper Top Coat or A-England’s The Shield Top Coat.

Leave a Reply

