Nail Varnish Picks – Autumn 2012

Nail Varnish Picks

Autumn 2012

Now that there’s a definite nip in the air and the nights are drawing in, it is very easy to see that autumn is well on the way to northern England. And that tends to mean that the nail varnishes I reach for on a regular basis are different to the ones I wear in the summer. I’ve worn a lot of neon nail varnish this summer (I haven’t worn anything else on my toes) but I’ve now pretty much put them back in their boxes until next summer now. The weather and season’s really do influence what nail varnish I will wear. I know some people just wear whatever they want when they want, and that’s great, but these are the nail varnishes which I know I’ll be reaching for a lot this season, and probably into winter as well. I have included photos if I have worn the nail varnishes I’m writing about before, but there are a few which I mention which I haven’t used yet, which I have been saving for this autumn.

The first nail varnish I want to talk about is Zodiac by Topshop. I have an entire review on this nail varnish and the read that, click here.  And there’s not much more to say about this nail varnish than I said there. It’s a blackish greeny colour with a really strong gold shimmer in it. And I mean it is loaded with shimmer. It is from Topshop’s Spring Summer 2012 collection Sisters of the New Moon, so I’m not sure if it is available anymore.

One nail varnish I am really looking forward to using this autumn is China Glaze’s  Agro. This is one of the Hunger Game’s nail varnishes and I knew when I bought it back in March that I would love wearing this in the autumn. It’s a lovely green colour – almost an olive green – with gold hints in it, although it’s not really shimmery.

Harvest Moon is another colour from China Glaze’s Hunger Games collection. It is a coppery bronze brown colour and has a very noticeable shimmer running through it, it has a slight glittery effect when on the nails. It’s not a dark brown colour either, and does lean towards orange and it just reminds me perfectly of falling leaves.

Red is a colour which I do wear year round, but I wear more bright true reds in the summer, and then for winter more darker toned reds. Headmistress is part of Essie’s Fall 2012 Stylenomics collection, and is the one I fell completely in love with when I saw swatches online and on YouTube. It’s one of the few Essie nail varnishes I have and is the one I’m most impressed with formula wise. (I’ve worn A Crewed Interest from Essie’s Spring 2012 Navigate Her collection a lot this spring and summer, but had real formula issues with it, it chipped straight away!) But Headmistress is a nice dark red, perfectly for the autumn, but not so dark it looks black or purple, you can still tell that it is red. So far I’ve like wearing this with a silver accent nail, as in the photo below.

Spa Ritual’s Running with Wolves is a lovely browny, goldy, bronzey colour which applies like a dream. It doesn’t have any noticeable shimmer or glitter in it, I would probably describe it as a metallic or foil finish. It’s a much darker version of Harvest Moon without the shimmer. This is definitely one of my all time favourites for autumn, I prefer it to Harvest Moon. I’ve already worn this nail varnish this autumn, when I paired it with a pale pink accent nail.

Fast Track is another nail varnish from China Glaze’s Hunger Games collection which I will be reaching for a lot this autumn. I think this colour is perfect when you don’t want something too noticeable, it’s a nice beige colour, but it is packed with gold shimmer. And the shimmer is really strong in it, it is really noticeable on your nails. This is probably my favourite from the Hunger Games nail varnishes at the moment.

One glitter nail varnish which just screams autumn to me is China Glaze’s Electrify. Again this is another Hunger Games nail varnish, but the combination of red and gold glitter just reminds me of falling leaves. I like wearing this colour over a bright red nail varnish, as I have in the photo below to create an accent nail.

A slightly less bright colour I will be reaching for this autumn is Saint George by A-England. It’s a lovely blue green colour with some shimmer and it applies lovely. Pretty much a one coater but I usually add a second coat. I have created a lovely Nail of the Day using this nail varnish, to see that, click here.

One very unique shade I’ve got for this autumn is Barry M’s 313 Dusky Mauve. It’s a taupe brown colour but with a very strong purple shimmer duochrome running through it. I haven’t seen anything like it before and I can’t wait to use it!

If you’ve read any of my other blog posts then you will know that I’ve finally managed to get my hands on Sally Hansen Xtreme Wear’s 420 Pacific Blue. And the more I look at this nail varnish, the more convinced I am that it is perfect for autumn. We had a lot of rain the beginning of the week, but now the weather has turned to that autumn weather that I love. We’ve had clear blue skies and sunshine but it’s also been cool and fresh, with much colder nights. And this nail varnish is just reminding me of these days, so I think it may be a nail varnish I reach for a lot this autumn (I am currently wearing it on my toes).

On all the nail design’s I am wearing Collection 2000′s 2 in 1 Base Coat and Ridge Filler with Keratin and either Essie’s Super Duper Top Coat or A-England’s The Shield Top Coat.

Leave a Reply

