Nails of the Month – August 2012

Nails of the Month

August 2012

Nail designs I’ve worn in August 2012. I think I’ve said before, but I’m lucky at work, I can wear whatever I like on my nails, they don’t have to be “work appropriate”. Which is brilliant, so I can just wear whatever I fancy.

The first colour I wore on my nails this month was OPI’s Absolutely Alice, with Barry M’s gold shatter over the top on my thumb and ring finger. Maybe this was a bit much for everyday wear, but it was my first week back at work after annual leave, and I wanted something pretty to look at while I was typing! Also, later on in the week when my nail varnish started to chip, I put the gold shatter over the rest of my nails, and you couldn’t tell. This varnish completely ate top coat though. I was using Essie’s Super Duper Top Coat as I had run out of A-England’s The Shield Topcoat and no matter how many coats I used I could not get rid of that textured feeling.

For my second look I painted all my nails with Natural Collection’s Hibiscus and then used Essie’s 10 Blanc to create dots in the shape of a flower on a couple of my nails.

For my third look I went with all pastels, using a different colour on each nail. To create this look I used Topshop’s World’s End, New York Colour Expert Last’s 257 Lavender Cupcake, Butter London’s Teddy Girl, Essie’s A Crewed Interest and Collection 2000 Hot Looks’ 45 Lemon Soda.

My fourth nail look was inspired by some seaside rock I had bought whilst on my holiday. I used Daisy Does It and Fly With Me from Color Club and I’m All Ears by OPI to create colourful stripes on my nails with a nail art brush. To create this look I painted my nails one thin coat of white first. I wore a similar design while on holiday in July but just with Daisy Does It and I’m All Ears, but I really like the addition of Fly With Me to the design. I got so many nice comments when I wore this design, people seemed to really like it.

My fifth nail colour was painting quickly before an evening trip to the seaside for what turned out to be a lovely evening with a walk along the beach and the pier and an amazing sunset. I wanted to go blue to remind me of the see and I alternated nails with China Glazes Towel Boy Toy and Splish Splash.

The sixth nail colour I wore was for my football teams first game of the season. We play in a red shirt with a white band across the front and I painted my nails to match. I used Sinful Colors 24 Misty Red and Essie 10 Blanc.

My seventh nail colour of the month I forgot to take a picture of, but I didn’t wear it for that long. I used Essie’s Light’s and then put OPI’s Nothin’ Mousie ‘Bout It on my thumb, middle and little finger. My reasoning behind this design was that I wanted to use my neons before the summer was over, but it ended up looking a bit too much and sickly for me. I’m not really a “girly girl”. And the hearts in OPI’s Nothin’ Mousie ‘Bout It are super hard to remove, worse than glitter varnishes!

My last nail design was my only true nail art design this month, when I created sunflowers on my nails and it was one of the best nail art designs I’ve done. It looked so good! I used Topshop’s Marine Scene for the background and New York Color In A Minute’s 294 Lexington Yellow and Zoya’s Cola to create the flowers.

On all the nail design’s I am wearing Collection 2000’s 2 in 1 Base Coat and Ridge Filler with Keratin and Essie’s Super Duper Top Coat.

I was quite about neons this month, but that’s because autumn is definitely on it’s way to northern England and I know that I probably won’t be wearing my bright summery colours much longer until next year.

My dad always says that I have too many nail varnishes and shouldn’t need any more – I wonder if the argument that I used twenty different nail varnishes in August and that I used some of them twice justifies buying more nail varnish. I think it does, as I don’t think there’s such a thing as too much nail varnish! And that count doesn’t include nail varnishes I have used on my toes.

Leave a Reply

