Nail Art – Euro 2012

Nail Art

Euro 2012

So my St George’s crosses had started to chip after a full week of typing at work and I needed to re-do my nails. I wanted to stick with the football theme, but didn’t just want to re-do the England flags. So I decided to try to paint footballs on my nails, and for the most part it has worked. I haven’t been doing nail art very long and I can’t draw to save my life, but I’ve found nail art fairly easy, if time consuming.

Euro 2012 Football Nail Art

Now these footballs did take me quite a bit of time to create, but I think they are worth it. I just hope that people will be able to tell what they are when they look at my nails and not just think that it is a black and white checkerboard design.

I started by painting all my nails a solid white. I personally used three thin coats to make it opaque. I made my index fingers into England flags again to stay patriotic, since we did manage to win again Sweden last night and now only need to draw our last game to clear the group stage (there are no guarantees with England though!) Then on my other nails I set about creating footballs.

I took a black nail varnish and a nail art brush and started by drawing a small pentagon in the middle of my nail. Then from each point on the pentagon I drew a line to the edge of my nail. Where that line met the edge of my nail I drew a triangle pointing up towards the pentagon in the centre of my nail. And then I filled in the pentagon and all the triangles with black. I found it easier not to fill in the pentagon with black until after I had drawn the lines coming off it as it made it easier to see where the points were. Then I edged my entire nails with black, in effect creating white pentagons inter linking with my black ones.

You can use any white, black and red nail varnish to create this design, but the nail varnishes I used where Essie 10 Blanc, A-England Camelot and Collection 2000 Lasting Colour 5 Fire Engine.

All photos are taken with a flash and on my nails I have a base coat, 3 coats of Essie’s 10 Blanc and then one layer forming the black of the footballs and the red of the flag and then a top coat. The base coat I used was Collection 2000′s Nail Care 2 in 1 Base Coast and Ridge Filler with Keratin and the top coat is A-England’s Shield.

2 thoughts on “Nail Art – Euro 2012

  1. Hi, I just read your comment on my blog and was curious to see how your nails look like. They look cute, but very difficult to make. Hope Engeland is gonna win tonight!

  2. Thank you so much. I’m pretty new to nail art and I’m really pleased with how these turned out, they weren’t as difficult as I thought they were going to be, just very time consumed, it took well over an hour, probably closer to two hours to complete the design. I’m glad England won tonight, but we made hard work of it!

Leave a Reply

