Nail Art – Queen’s Diamond Jubilee

Nail Art

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee

When deciding that I wanted to wear a nail art design this week, the obvious choice was to create Union Jacks in honour of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and I’m sure I’m not the only one who has.

Diamond Jubilee Nail Art

They were pretty simple to paint actually. I just started with a bright blue base, then used a white striper polish to create a shape like an asterix and then used a thin nail art brush and some red polish to go over the white. I will admit though, when I had just done the blue and the white it looked an absolute mess, but it completely came together when I added the red. And I got so many nice comments on them. A lot of people at work thought that they were stickers and I had to tell them that I had painted them.

You can use any blue, red and white colours to create this look, but the colours I actually used were Barry M’s 291 in Colbalt Blue, Nail Star Two-Way Nail Art Pen and Brush in White and Collection 2000 Lasting Colour in 5 Fire Engine.

I finally got round to taking a photo of my nails about 6 days after painting them, and there is very minimal chip wear showing but they lasted amazingly well.

All photos are taken with a flash and on my nails I have a base coat, 2 coats of Barry M’s Colbat Blue and then one layer forming the flag of the white and the red and then a top coat. The base coat I used was Collection 2000′s Nail Care 2 in 1 Base Coast and Ridge Filler with Keratin and the top coat is A-England’s Shield.

Leave a Reply

