Nail Varnish Review – Accessorize Nevada

Nail Varnish Review

Accessorize – Nevada

So, me, my mum and my sister managed to get tickets to Westlife’s Farewell Tour concert at Newcastle Arena and the nail varnish I had on did not match the outfit I had planned to wear. So I decided to use one of the many new nail varnishes I’ve bought recently to make sure my nails did match my outfit. The nail varnish was from Accessorize and is in the colour Nevada.

I’ve picked up four Accessorize nail varnishes recently, three from Accessorize itself and one from Superdrug. I’ve read some good things about the Accessorize make up range in general, and I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of colours they had on offer. I was looking for nail varnishes to wear for summer, but I think I’ll be back for some other shades once Autumn comes.

Nevada is essentially a brown colour. It’s a nice mid, warm brown, it’s not super light and it’s not too dark. It does have a lot of orange in it, so it’s not completely brown, but it’s not copper either. It’s closer to a brown than a copper or bronze, it’s just a nice orangey brown. It does have a very fine bright orange shimmer running through it. At first I thought it was a gold shimmer, but on close inspection it is a very bright orange. It’s not overly noticeable, but it just adds nicely

to the orangey brown colour.

The packaging from Accessorize is super cute, and the price is so reasonably, at only £4. And that’s for a 10ml bottle. The application is pretty good, and it goes on quietly smoothly. I found it a little tricky as the lid is quite big and a bit chunky to hold. You do need two coats, maybe even three if you do super thin coats. My one complaint would be that I got pretty bad chipping after two days, but only on my index fingers, so I just literally patched it up because all of the rest of my nails still looked so good.

As I was going on a really special night out, I created a feature nail simply by putting one of my favourite glitter topcoats on my ring finger. I love glitter topcoats. If I have nail varnish on that is starting to chip and I don’t have time to remove it all and reapply a new varnish, then I’ll put on a thin layer of a glitter topcoat to hide the worst of the chipping. But as I was creating a feature nail this time, I used two thickish coats of E.l.f’s Golden Goddess. And I really like how it complimented the Nevada colour.

When I’m choosing nail varnish, obviously I have to like the colo

ur, but the name also means a lot to me. And I love America and have been lucky enough to visit the country on several occasions. I haven’t visited the state of Nevada, yet, but it’s on my to visit list. And the burnt orangey brown colour of this nail varnish really does just remind you of a desert.

Photos are taken with a flash and on my nails I have a basecoat, two coats of Nevada and then a topcoat. The base coat I used was Collection 2000′s Nail Care 2 in 1 Base Coast and Ridge Filler with Keratin and the top coat is A-England’s Shield. On my feature nail I added two thickish coats of E.l.f’s Golden Goddess over two coats of Nevada and then the topcoat.

And finally, I’ll leave you with a couple of photos from the Westlife concert.

Westlife Farewell Tour Concert 2012 017

Westlife Farewell Tour Concert 2012 063

Westlife Farewell Tour Concert 2012 279

Westlife Farewell Tour Concert 2012 318

Westlife Farewell Tour Concert 2012 332

And on a side note, if anyone care’s. The Westlife concert was amazing! I can’t quite believe I’ll never get to see them in concert again. I can’t believe it was 11 years ago when I was thirteen years old that I went to see their first ever tour.

Leave a Reply

