Nail Varnish Review – China Glaze Dress Me Up

Nail Varnish Review

China Glaze – Dress Me Up

Dress Me Up is one of the varnishes in China Glaze’s Capitol Colour’s collection based on the Hunger Games film.

Being from England, where China Glaze varnishes are super difficult to get, this is the first time I have used a China Glaze product. Being a huge fan of the book the Hunger Games (I haven’t seen the film as of yet) once I found out there was a nail varnish collection inspired by it, I knew that I needed to look online and see if I could purchase some of the collection.

China Glaze Dress Me Up

I’ve always been a little bit nervous with the idea of buying nail varnish online and all the problems with shipping, I just can’t get images of shattered glass bottles and a great big mess out of my head! However, the lure of Hunger Games nail varnish was too much and I now own nine out of the twelve in the collection.

I found the cheapest place to buy them with international shipping was on ebay and I found a wonderful seller in America who is just starting out with their ebay shop and with really reasonable prices. They had quick delivery too. I bought two lots from this seller, they had a deal on where you got four colours of your choice from the collection for a set price. I originally bought four and when they got here pretty quick (less than two weeks), I ordered another four. The ebay seller is the colorelf, who can be found here.

Dress Me Up is the only varnish from the collection which I have currently tried. With the Hunger Games Capitol Colours collection, each varnish represents one of the twelve districts of Panem. And Dress Me Up represents District Eight, the textile district. When the collection and the colours where originally conceived they were based around characters rather than the districts and this was the colour for Katniss’ younger sister Prim (short for Primrose).

In the bottle the colour looks very much like a dark dusky pink. However when I applied it to my nails, it looks much darker than it does in the bottle and is much more of a brown instead of a pink. There are some brown hints when it is in the bottle, but nowhere near as brown as it appears on my nails. That being said, I think the colour is starting to slowly grow on me the more I wear it. It is a very neutral shade and does have a slight hint of pink in it and I think it works very well for spring. In certain lights it does look more a dark dusky pink colour, but in other lights it definately looks more browny.

This is the first China Glaze varnish which I have used and I did like the formula. It applied easily and I only needed two coats of the colour. It also dried fairly quickly compared to some other varnishes which I have.

So, overall, I am fairly impressed with Dress Me Up. The colour isn’t quite what I expected it to be but is still nice and it’s easy to apply. I think it’ll be a colour I wear quite a lot during spring (the weather here in England is nothing like summer weather at the moment) but I think it will be too dark for what I like during the summer, so it’ll probably get put away until autumn once the sun comes out to play and the summertime is here.

Photos are taken with a flash and on my nails I have a basecoat, two coats of Dress Me Up and then a topcoat. The base coat I used was Collection 2000’s Nail Care 2 in 1 Base Coast and Ridge Filler with Keratin and the top coat is Collection 2000’s Nail Care 2 in 1 Top Coat and Gloss Enhancer.

Has anyone else trying out and of the Capitol Colours collection? If so, let me know what you think by leaving me a comment!

Leave a Reply

